All Our Times

Life always has a way of smashing to bits your best intentions. 

Two weeks ago, I had a post to write, telling all about our oh-so-mild adventures rambling through North Carolina and the Smokey Mountain foothills.  Then, my neighbor was gunned down in my back yard and I kind of forgot about most everything for a few days.  Funny how a little drug violence can rock your world.

Yesterday, I started writing about some new developments at Splendorly.com and intended to finish up and post it, in this very spot, today.  Then I got to work and found out that my co-worker (and friend) was killed last night in a hit-and-run accident just two houses down from his driveway.  Currently, I can’t think of much more than how a person can live with themselves after they hit a man on a motorcycle and leave him for dead in the road.  Who does that?  Who stops their truck, turns around, looks square at the person they just ran over and then keeps going like nothing happened? 

I am so disgusted by this city.  I’m broken by the empty-hearted people who devastate lives at will.  I’m so sad for the families losing loved ones to senselessness and selfishness.  And, I’m tired.  I’m weary of the mindless haze that follows in the wake of tragedy and exhausted by the weeping and emptiness of loss.

My friend charlie was a really great man and he made a difference in my life.  He made me smile at work, which, if you know me at all, says alot about him.  He had a big heart and he really seemed to love his life.  He will be missed, terribly.

So, you be safe.  Love as hard as you can and hold onto life for all that it’s worth.   

Leave a comment

Filed under Too Much, When the going gets tough

Leave a Reply

