White Knuckled Drive

White Knuckled Drive, originally uploaded by Mandy P..

Jacksonville has no less than five major bridges connecting the neighborhoods of this vast city. I cross two of them twice a day as I commute back and forth to home and work. Heavy construction up and down I-95 have made driving my usual route a bit of a hazard and I lovingly call the barrier-lined, 15 mile stretch north of downtown “the death trap.”

The events yesterday in Minnesota certainly made the drive today seem more perilous, especially as one of the crossings happens to be under some major construction.  I already had a phobia of bridges and I’m afraid this tragedy has done nothing but justify my once seemingly irrational fears.

My thoughts and prayers are with the families of everyone affected by last night’s bridge collapse. The heart of every Jacksonville commuter goes out to you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

