If silence is truly golden, this website must be worth a million bucks.


Blazing Hot, originally uploaded by Mandy P..

I must admit to you that I have been avoiding this website for no other reason but that I was tired and desperately needed a break. I’ve spent the last month on a hot, tin roof, filming an installation video for work and attempting to launch a side career as field producer or metal roofing installer. I feel confident that should I ever lose my position as the company do-girl, I just might have a future in the trades, so that’s exciting.

Being the genius that I am, I chose to film this video in the month of August, which, if you don’t know, was one of the hottest months on record and boasted several days with temperatures well above 100 degrees. And there I was, stuck in the middle of it, desperately chasing the shade and running across the empty parking lot to catch a bit of breeze. Believe me when I tell you, it was hot. Really, R-E-A-L-L-Y HOT. So hot that every ounce of life and joy is sucked from your body and precipates down your face, puddling at your feet as you melt into a gooey mess of nothingness.

Most days, after hours of suffering through the heat and massive humidity, I would drag my lifeless, soul-less body home to shower and change and then travel into the office to make nice with executives and stare emptily at my computer screen for an hour before returning home to die.

A little dramatic, maybe, but I hope you can understand my complete inability to put three words together and form a cohesive sentence. Now that August is over, the heat is retreating and the remainder of the project is on hold indefinitely, I can reboot in safe mode and begin to recover in the climate controlled comfort of my air conditioned office.

I have the feeling that things are about to get interesting around here. I’ll be back with details and updates on the list as soon as I’m 100%.  You can check out some of my time “on location” over at Flickr.

Leave a comment

Filed under Case of the Workdays, Just Me, When the going gets tough

Leave a Reply

