The List: Vegas Shmegas

Originally uploaded by Mandy P..

So, of all the things on the list, visiting Vegas is the only one I put down because I knew I could accomplish the task. I had at least two tradeshows I was scheduled to attend in the city in 2007, so this one was a no brainer. Don’t get me wrong, going to Las Vegas is something I’ve wanted to do for a while but I can’t say that I was absolutely dying to go.

I’ve never been wooed by gambling and I don’t get along with large crowds, but visiting Las Vegas is absolutely something everyone should do at least once in their lifetime. So, I went.

Within a hour of landing, I was approached by a woman in the lobby of my hotel. She too had just landed, only she had arrived on a whim, having purchased her ticket only minutes before stepping onto the plane, and on the arm of a boy she had met less than 24 hours prior. She was pushing 40 and her new toy was roughly 25, newly divorced and very good at charming the 20’s from her wallet a handful at a time. She bought me a drink so I sat with them in the lobby bar for thirty minutes or so and left when the conversation went beyond awkward to plain old creepy.

The rest of the week was filled with standard tradeshow drone, except for the few moments I had to steal away with one of my very best friends from college, now a Vegas local. She hosts at a popular nightclub so hanging out with her at night was an experience like no other. She’s proven quite successful at her job and had even been voted Vegas Prom Queen a few nights before so the entire night time seen was buzzing with her name. We had a blast, catching up quickly for years of lost time as we were VIP’ed on guest lists at every club in town. She would drop me off, drunk and wobbly, at the hotel door only hours before I had to report for work. Not very professional but who cares. I hadn’t had fun like that since college and it’s Vegas, right? Drunk and wobbly is the norm there.

At the end of the week, I took the red eye home, ready to leave the lights and the incessant ding, ding, ding of the slot machines behind me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Done and Done, Good Days, The list

Leave a Reply

