How I made my mother cry

Ebin and I found out we were pregnant about the middle of week four but ended up not telling our families until week eight. It was something we wanted to do in person and finding a time when we could tell both sets of parents in one weekend was a challenge. Finally, in mid-May we were able to plan a birthday celebration with my family and a belated Mother’s Day lunch with Ebin’s parents. Keeping the secret was REALLY difficult so we wanted the payoff to be huge. We knew we wanted to do something clever, more than just buying an aptly worded baby item or presenting our mothers with “Happy Mother’s Day, Grandma” cards (not that there is anything wrong with that). It had to be creative and sneaky, leaving a trail of crying mothers and stunned fathers in its wake.  I had an idea that Ebin liked and two weeks or so before we planned to tell, we set our master plan in motion

Some quick backstory: Shortly after my sister’s wedding, my dad made a video from the slideshow the bride and groom played at their rehearsal dinner. He mentioned at the time that he would do the same for Ebin and I, if only I would provide the pictures and music. Needless to say, two years later, we were still videoless.

So, I started complaining about our lack of sentimental slide show videos and protested, quite loudly, that if my dad wasn’t going to make one for us then I would just make my own.  Only our video would be 500 times better.

I already had a huge stash of photos from Ebin’s childhood and was able to fill in the blanks of my own youth on a previous trip home.  Ebin and I auditioned several songs for background filler and selected the sappiest option.  And, the pièce de résistance, captured as a result of my incessant need to have all of life’s moments in digital form, was a recording of the moment Ebin discovered the positive pregnancy test.  I had everything I could think of that might possibly break the dam on the waterfall of tears.  Hours of tweaking and 2,963 viewings later, this is what we came up with:

Featuring Gravity by Embrace.

We debuted the video for my family after returing home from my brother’s 21st birthday party.  It was 2:00 in the morning, my brother was wasted and everyone else was tired and angry that I was insisting that we watch this video.  Maybe it was the fatigue that brought tears to my mother’s eyes but she cried and it counts!

The next morning, we drove to Lake Wales for lunch with Ebin’s parents.  After several failed attempts to watch the video on their DVD player, we watched it on Ebin’s computer.  It took my sweet mother-in-law a few minutes to grasp what we were trying to tell her but once it clicked, she squeezed me so tight I could hardly breathe.

There were fewer tears than I expected but I feel like mission accomplished.  The secret is out, the parents are estatic and no one has to keep some tacky “I love my grandma” coffee mug.  Everyone wins!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby Babe, Good Days, Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

