Confession

My dear, beloved English teachers:

I have one tiny confession.  You know those books you assigned over our semesters together?  About that…I never read them.  At least, not all of them.

Somehow (most likely through my God-given talent of bs-ing), I managed to convince you otherwise but you should know that all those reports and term papers and dramatic reenactments and aced tests were often the result of some skimming and skipping and the occasional cliff notes reference.

I’m so sorry.  I feel terrible.  I know now, as an adult, that I have only cheated myself out of having read some truly fabulous fiction.  And so, for you and for me, I am hereby committing myself to reading all those wonderful books I so callously tossed into the bottom of my bookbag and never looked at again until test time.

The offending list includes:

  • The Odyssey
  • Great Expectations
  • A Separate Peace
  • Fahrenheit 451
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • The Great Gatsby

I’ll be adding these to the list as well.  My makeup book report will be in the mail shortly.

Love,

Me

Leave a comment

Filed under Just Me, The list

Leave a Reply

